Workgroup Efficient Embedded Systems Hochschule Augsburg
University of Applied Sciences
HS Augsburg / Dept. of Computer Science / Workgroup EES german
Home
Team
Job vacancies
Open
degree theses
Lab
Research
ChASA
ASTERICS
ParaNut
Triokulus
e4rat
HiCoVec
Teaching
Hardware Systems
Development of
Digital Systems 2
Development of
Integrated Systems
Project Works
Publications
Archive
Seminar WS15/16
Seminar WS14/15
Seminar WS13/14
Imprint

ChASA

CAD model-based, hardware-supported measurement
for ship and plant building processes

Logo_BMWi

The ChASA project is a research project funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi). It deals with the development of a mobile device to measure the as-is state in plant building processes. Computationally intensive algorithms are to be accelerated by hardware structures realized within an FPGA. The project will be carried out in close cooperation with industry and other research institutions.

In the field of plant construction, it is customary to record the current status of work on the site at regular intervals. This is necessary as a result of unforeseeable problems while parts of the site are not implemented as planned. However, following work process steps require current plan data, such as for connecting points of aggregates. Traditionally, these are determined by a complex, manual measurement. The timely close and efficient refeeding of 3D raw data into the planning system is - in addition to the high investment costs - still an unsolved problem. In order to reduce cost and deployment time this project aims to develop a low-cost mobile solution to address this problem. The status of the work process is to be determined on the site in a short time and refeeded to the planning system. A key innovation is the measurement by low-cost, mobile 3D sensor technology, the use of FPGA-accelerated computer vision algorithms and a model-based scene interpretation.

As a mobile device with limited computing power is to be used, an efficient implementation of the algorithms is required. FPGAs provide the flexibility needed to develop hardware structures that can be optimally adapted to a given algorithm and exploit the parallelization efficiently. The working group "Efficient Embedded Systems" deals with the development of complex and efficient hardware structures for the involved geometry and feature extraction steps in this project.

Project Partners

Students, please notice!

Students are focussed to be involved into this research project.
Therefore constantly very interesting

  • research assistant jobs
  • bachelor and master theses
  • project works
  • internships
are up for grabs. Please contact us if you are interested in a topic in the fields of image processing and FPGA programming and if you want to work on a project that is both research and practice-oriented.

22.2.2018 - Michael Schäferling

Arbeitsgruppe Effiziente Eingebettete Systeme Hochschule Augsburg
University of Applied Sciences
HS Augsburg / Fakultät für Informatik / Arbeitsgruppe EES english
Startseite
Team
Offene Stellen
Offene
Abschlussarbeiten
Labor
Forschung
ChASA
ASTERICS
ParaNut
Triokulus
e4rat
HiCoVec
Lehre
Hardware-Systeme
Entwurf digitaler
Systeme 2
Entwurf integrierter
Systeme
Studentische
Projektarbeiten
Publikationen
Archiv
Seminar WS15/16
Seminar WS14/15
Seminar WS13/14
Impressum

ChASA

CAD-Modell-basierte, hardwaregestützte Aufmaßbestimmung
für den Schiff- und Anlagenbau

Logo_BMWi

Das ChASA-Projekt ist ein vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördertes Forschungsprojekt. Es befasst sich mit der Entwicklung eines mobilen Gerätes zur Sachstandsermittlung im Anlagenbau. Dabei sollen rechenaufwändige Algorithmen durch Hardware-Strukturen in einem FPGA beschleunigt werden. Das Projekt wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie und weiteren Forschungseinrichtungen durchgeführt.

Im Bereich des Anlagenbaus ist es üblich, in regelmäßigen Abständen den aktuellen Stand der Arbeiten auf der Baustelle zu erfassen. Dies ist erforderlich, da aufgrund von nicht vorhersehbaren Problemen Teile der zu fertigenden Anlage nicht wie geplant realisiert werden. Die im Prozess folgenden Arbeitsschritte erfordern jedoch aktuelle Planungsdaten, etwa für Anschlussstellen von Aggregaten. Traditionell werden diese durch ein aufwändiges, manuelles Aufmaß bestimmt. Die zeitnahe und effiziente Rückführung der 3D-Rohdaten in das Planungssystem ist - neben den hohen Investitionskosten - dennoch ein ungelöstes Problem. Zur Reduktion der Kosten und der Bereitstellungszeiten verfolgt dieses Vorhaben das Ziel, eine preiswerte mobile Lösung zu entwickeln, mit der in kurzer Zeit der Stand der Arbeiten vor Ort erfasst und in das Planungssystem zurückgeführt werden kann. Eine wesentliche Innovation ist hierbei die Erfassung durch preiswerte, mobile 3D-Sensorik, der Einsatz von FPGA-beschleunigten Computer-Vision-Algorithmen sowie eine Modell-gestützte Szeneninterpretation.

Da ein mobiles Gerät mit begrenzter Rechenleistung verwendet werden soll, ist eine effiziente Implementierung der Algorithmen notwendig. FPGAs stellen die benötigte Flexibilität bereit, um Hardwarestrukturen zu entwickeln, die optimal auf einen gegebenen Algorithmus angepasst werden können und dessen Parallelisierbarkeit effizient ausnutzen. Die Arbeitsgruppe "Effiziente Eingebettete Systeme" befasst sich mit der Entwicklung komplexer und effizienter Hardwarestrukturen für die in diesem Projekt notwendige Geometrie- und Merkmalsextraktion.

Die Partner

Studenten aufgepasst!

Mit dem Projekt sollen und können gezielt auch Studierende in die Forschungsarbeiten eingebunden werden.
Es sind daher laufend sehr interessante

  • Hiwi-Jobs
  • Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten
  • Projektarbeiten
  • Praktika
zu vergeben. Bitte sprechen Sie uns an, wenn Sie Interesse an einem Thema aus den Bereichen Bildverarbeitung oder FPGA-Programmierung haben und an einem Projekt mitarbeiten möchten, das sowohl forschungs- als auch praxisorientiert ist.

9.10.2017 - Michael Schäferling