Workgroup Efficient Embedded Systems Hochschule Augsburg
University of Applied Sciences
HS Augsburg / Dept. of Computer Science / Workgroup EES german
Home
Team
Job vacancies
Open
degree theses
Lab
Research
ASTERICS
ParaNut
ChASA
Triokulus
e4rat
HiCoVec
Teaching
Hardware Systems
Development of
Digital Systems 2
Development of
Integrated Systems
Project Works
Publications
Archive
Seminar WS15/16
Seminar WS14/15
Seminar WS13/14
Imprint

Spotty - An Autonomous Service Robot

Project Work (IMSc1) in SS 2012 and WS 2012/13

Definition of the project:

The goal of this project work is to develop an autonomous mobile robot that can orient itself on the basis of optical characteristics in the room.

For example, the robot is supposed to detect objects and to transport them to a particular location. The physical platform for the system is a vacuum cleaner robot which is already available. With the support of additional embedded hardware (Atom or ARM platform) it should be able to recognize and to interact with certain objects (transport). Other objects which are fixed in space should be utilized for guidance.

The biggest challenge is the recognition of the environment and the determination of the robots own position. Currently available vacuum cleaner robots will need, for example, specific (radio) markers, which must be placed in the room. In this project work the navigation should solely be based on natural optical characteristics of the environment. This way, the space in which the robot moves, does not need to be specially prepared.

For the solution of the task, the experiences of the BMBF project "Triokulus" can be utilized. Over the past few years, innovative algorithms and hardware modules for the recognition of natural objects have been developed and published internationally. According to success, the result of the project work could also lead to an international publication.

Requirements:

  • Interest in computer vision
  • Good knowledge of C/C++
  • Interest in the development of embedded systems
  • Experience with Linux is an advantage

Material:

Slides Preliminary discussion (Single slides)
Literature/Code Diploma Thesis by Konstantin Otto
OpenCV Demo - SURF
OpenCV Demo - Image Processing
SVN-Server of the Triokulus-Project
17.9.2019 - Michael Schäferling

Arbeitsgruppe Effiziente Eingebettete Systeme Hochschule Augsburg
University of Applied Sciences
HS Augsburg / Fakultät für Informatik / Arbeitsgruppe EES english
Startseite
Team
Offene Stellen
Offene
Abschlussarbeiten
Labor
Forschung
ChASA
ASTERICS
ParaNut
Triokulus
e4rat
HiCoVec
Lehre
Hardware-Systeme
Entwurf digitaler
Systeme 2
Entwurf integrierter
Systeme
Studentische
Projektarbeiten
Publikationen
Archiv
Seminar WS15/16
Seminar WS14/15
Seminar WS13/14
Impressum

Spotty - Ein sehender, autonomer Service-Roboter

Projektarbeit (IMSc1) im SS 2012 und WS 2012/13

Die Aufgabenstellung:

Ziel dieser Projektarbeit ist die Entwicklung eines autonomen mobilen Roboters, der sich anhand optischer Merkmale im Raum orientieren kann.

Der Roboter soll beispielsweise Objekte erkennen und an einen bestimmten Ort transportieren können. Die physikalische Plattform für das System stellt ein bereits erhältlicher Staubsauger-Roboter dar. Mittels zusätzlicher Embedded-Hardware (Atom- oder ARM-Plattform) soll der Roboter Objekte erkennen können, wobei er mit gewissen Objekten interagieren kann (Transport). Andere Objekte, die sich fest im Raum befinden, sollen ihm dabei zur Orientierung dienen.

Die größte Herausforderung dabei ist die Erkennung der Umgebung und die Bestimmung der eigenen Position durch den Roboter. Derzeit erhältliche Staubsauger-Roboter benötigen hierfür zum Beispiel spezielle (Funk-)Marker, die aufwendig im Raum platziert werden müssen. In dieser Projektarbeit soll die Navigation alleine anhand von natürlichen optischen Merkmalen passieren, sodass der Raum, in dem sich der Roboter bewegt, nicht besonders präpariert werden muss.

Für die Lösung der Aufgabe kann auf die Erfahrungen des BMBF-Projekts "Triokulus" zurückgegriffen werden. Hier sind in den vergangenen Jahren innovative Algorithmen und Hardwaremodule für die Erkennung natürlicher Objekte entwickelt und international publiziert worden. Das Ergebnis der Projektarbeit könnte entsprechend bei Erfolg ebenso in eine internationale Publikation münden.

Voraussetzungen:

  • Interesse an Computer-Vision
  • Gute Kenntnisse in C/C++
  • Interesse an der Entwicklung von Embedded-Systemen
  • Erfahrung im Umgang mit Linux ist von Vorteil

Material:

Folien Vorbesprechung (Folien einzeln)
Literatur/Code Diplomarbeit von Konstantin Otto
OpenCV Demo - SURF
OpenCV Demo - Bildverarbeitung
SVN-Server des Triokulus-Projekts
30.7.2018 - Michael Schäferling